M6d1 Poetry

Question Description

Read five of the following poems:

  • Nostalgia (Billy Collins) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46703/nostalgia-56d226ac3a1dd (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • Introduction to Poetry (Billy Collins) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46712/introduction-to-poetry (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • Daddy (Sylvia Plath) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/48999/daddy-56d22aafa45b2 (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • Eating Poetry (Mark Strand) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/52959/eating-poetry (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • The Idea (Mark Strand) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/52170/the-idea (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • A Man May Change (Marvin Bell) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46603/a-man-may-change (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • To Dorothy (Marvin Bell) https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/to-dorothy/ (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • The Operation (Anne Sexton) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53113/the-operation-56d232209c14d (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • Berryman (W.S. Merwin) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/58530/berryman (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • The Animals (WS Merwin) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/43121/the-animals (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • Glass (A.R. Ammons) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/54775/glass-56d23586bf171 (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • The Mechanism (A.R. Ammons) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/54774/mechanism (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.
  • Love Song (Dorothy Parker) https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/44831/love-song-56d224131a619 (Links to an external site.)Links to an external site.

As you read, look for the elements of meter, rhyme, theme, descriptive language, and humor. Submit a 250-500 word post, discussing your findings. Describe which poem is your personal favorite.

Posted in Uncategorized

Place this order or similar order and get an amazing discount. USE Discount code “GET20” for 20% discount